14 teams fight for business plan title

A total of 14 teams will compete in the Pharmacy Guild of Australia’s 2017 National Student Business Plan Competition.

Registrations have now closed and the Guild says this year’s high number of registrations follows the success of the 2016 competition.

The 2017 entrants include multiple registrations from several pharmacy schools in Australia and New Zealand and registrations from first-time entrants, such as the University of Otago.

The yearly competition, launched in 2006, encourages innovation among pharmacy students, who will be the future owners of community pharmacies in Australia and New Zealand.

The Guild says the focus on innovation will continue in 2017 with the aim of ensuring that tomorrow’s owners look for highly differentiated services that they can provide to the market.

The competition is an initiative of the Pharmacy Guild and is sponsored by Sanofi Consumer Healthcare (principal sponsor), EBOS (major sponsor), Gold Cross Products and Services and Pharmaceutical Defence Ltd (both foundation sponsors).

The competition will progress through several rounds, culminating in the finals to be held at the Pharmacy Connect 2017 conference in Sydney (September 1-3).

The competition, which was open to all pharmacy schools, will provide $15,000 in cash prizes to the finalists (top three teams) and registration, flights and accommodation to attend Pharmacy Connect.