Ex-Guild chief among pharmacists in Queen’s Birthday Honours

The Pharmacy Guild’s former national president, Kos Sclavos, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours.

A Brisbane community pharmacist and Life Member of the Guild, Mr Sclavos has been at the forefront of pharmacist innovation and information technology for many years, including during his time as Guild national president from 2005 to 2013. He was first elected Queensland Branch president in 1996.

The Guild’s current National President, George Tambassis, says Mr Sclavos’ inclusion in the Order of Australia was well-deserved recognition of a powerhouse contribution to the pharmacist profession.

“Across many aspects of pharmacy, Kos has been an innovator with an ability to visualise the future, understand the changes required to deliver success and then work tirelessly to bring it to fruition,” Mr Tambassis said.

“Kos Sclavos’ leadership in developing and implementing a nationally accredited quality-assurance standard and system for community pharmacies remains one of his enduring achievements. His achievements also include the Fifth Community Pharmacy Agreement, which saw the introduction of innovative, remunerated professional pharmacy services; the design and introduction of systemised IT programs for professional pharmacy services; and leadership on digital health and electronic prescriptions.”

Mr Tambassis added that Mr Sclavos’ leadership and hard work during the past 20 years also helped the Australian Pharmacy Professional conference to become the biggest and most successful national pharmacy conference.

Victorian pharmacists Graham Slade, proprietor of Slade Pharmacy Services, and Harry Jones, of Chirnside Park, were also recognised with AM awards – Mr Slade for “significant service to the community as a supporter of aged care, medical and multicultural associations, and to the pharmacy profession”, and Mr Jones for “service to people with a disability, and to the pharmacy profession”.

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia National President Joe Demarte said these distinguished pharmacists, who had enjoyed long careers serving local communities and providing healthcare, were highly deserving of their honours.

“I congratulate these high-achieving pharmacists for their outstanding achievements and commitment to excellence,” Mr Demarte said.

“Being bestowed with a Queen’s Birthday Honour is a fantastic reward for many years of hard work and dedication to the pharmacy sector.”

Mr Demarte also paid tribute to Mr Sclavos for his significant service to the pharmacyprofession through a range of retail, advisory and executive roles.