Ley announces GP Training Advisory Committee

Federal Health Minister Sussan Ley announced appointments to the new profession-led GP Training Advisory Committee to oversee governance of the Australian General Practice Training program.
Ms Ley said the establishment of the profession-led committee would provide advice to government on GP training policy and delivery.
“The Australian General Practice Training program is a postgraduate vocational education and training program designed to prepare GP registrars for fellowship,” she said.
“This important advisory committee will be jointly managed by the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine and will also include representatives from General Practice Registrars Australia, General Practice Supervisors Australia and the Department of Health.”
Ms Ley said there are currently more than 4,700 GP registrars on the Australian General Practice Training program nationally.
“I am pleased to announce that Professor Stephen Trumble has been appointed independent chair, Dr Siew-Lee Thoo and Associate Professor Jenny Thomson have been appointed as independent clinicians, and Dr Mark Wenitong has been appointed as the independent Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander GP, each for a three-year term,” she said.
GP Training Advisory Committee membership
Committee Member
Professor Stephen Trumble
Independent chair
Associate Professor Jenny Thomson
Independent clinician
Dr Siew-Lee Thoo
Independent clinician
Dr Mark Wenitong
Independent Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander GP
Dr Frank Jones
President, RACGP
Dr Marc Miller
Censor in Chief, RACGP
Associate Professor Lucie Walters
President, ACRRM
Ms Marita Cowie
Dr Jomini Cheong
Chair, GPRA
Dr Bruce Willett
Chair, GPSA
Department of Health
Australian Government