Lucy Walker Chemmart Goondiwindi wins Guild Pharmacy of the Year

Lucy Walker Chemmart Pharmacy, a rural community pharmacy at Goondiwindi in Queensland’s Darling Downs region, has been named Guild Pharmacy of the Year 2017.

The award, conducted annually, recognises pharmacies leading the way in providing innovative and optimal healthcare for their community members. The ultimate winner is chosen from the three category winners. For 2017, these are:

  • Community Engagement: Lucy Walker Chemmart, Goondiwindi.
  • Business Management: Capital Chemist Southlands, Canberra.
  • Professional Services Innovation: Capital Chemist Wanniassa, Canberra.

Health Minister Greg Hunt presented the awards at the APP 2017 conference on the Gold Coast yesterday.

A spokesperson for the judging group, pharmacist Nick Panayiaris, Pharmacy Guild of Australia National Councillor and President of the South Australian Branch of the Guild, said Lucy Walker Chemmart was an exceptional example of a pharmacy transforming to a model of care that supports its local community.

“Lucy Walker has a very strong focus on staff welfare and staff development,” he said. “The commitment to staff is a feature of the pharmacy operations and is an underlying foundation of its ability to provide the very best advice and services to customers and patients.

“The pharmacy’s strong community ties are reflected in the engagement and support the pharmacy receives from the regional areas. To these rural communities, the pharmacy is an integral part of that community and a major social, health and community hub.”

Guild National President George Tambassis said Lucy Walker Chemmart reflected not only the transformation of pharmacy today, but also the importance of rural pharmacy to local communities.

“This is an exemplary pharmacy whose services and offerings are now recognised as being the best in the country,” he said.

“It’s a great example to all other pharmacies, regardless of where they’re located, of what can be done with vision, commitment and a focus on the future.”

TerryWhite Chemmart CEO Anthony White saluted the winners and finalists within the recently merged network.

“On behalf of TerryWhite Chemmart, I would like to congratulate the winning pharmacy, Lucy Walker Chemmart Goondiwindi, and the finalists, Waikerie Chemplus [SA] and TerryWhite Chemmart Hawthorn [Melbourne], who have been recognised for their excellence in community pharmacy,” he said.

“I’m incredibly proud of them and these awards truly recognise them as leaders and innovators who play a vital role in serving the health needs of their local communities.

“Lucy has been a valuable board member with Chemmart, she inspires her team and the community in Goondiwindi and plays a vital leadership role.

“These awards are testament to the hard work and dedication of the entire team.”